HOME

DEUTSCH

The Website

This website came to life as the »Heike Werner Gallery for Computer Art and New Photography« in summer 2012. Today it is just an online presentation and the displayed works of art are generally not for sale.
If yo have any questions about the images or on computer art - don´t hesitate to send an email.

About Heike Werner:
lives in Munich, Germany,
studied architecture at TU Munich,
works as architectural editor
and publisher, since 2003


Here are two brief introductions regarding the terms Computer Art and New Photography:


Computer Art

Today, computer art is everywhere. Computer-generated images are all over the »old« and the »new« media. And they already began to change our analog world, the cities and places we live in: in architecture the digital age generates structures and forms which can only be calculated by a computer brain and visualizations that lead us to unprecedented artificial worlds. Music also arrived in the digital age – with Kraftwerk at the latest.

In the opening exhibition »Computer Art 1972« as well as in »Serendipity!« the »Gallery for Computer Art and New Photography« presents solely computer graphics generated in the early days of computer art. Back then, in the 1960s and 70s, mainframe computers ruled the digital world, so that the early software-artists were in general natural scientists – mathematicians, physicists, engineers – those chosen few who had access to a mainframe.

The era of computer art began when the computer man started to develop an art consciousness and exhibited his self-programmed works of art for the first time. That happened in the year 1965. There were earlier computer-generated works of course, but the first official step into the art world occurred in 1965. In that year the first computer art exhibitions opened in Stuttgart (Germany) and in New York.

In Stuttgart the driving force behind the show was Max Bense, professor for philosophy and technology and a major developer of the so called information aesthetics. This website´s second exhibition, »red 40+1«, presents early editions of his »edition rot«. Bense enabled the first exhibition displaying the computer graphics of mathematician Georg Nees at the gallery of the TH Stuttgart in early 1965. Only a little later in the year the Howard Wise Gallery in New York presented »Computer-Generated Pictures«, computer graphics by engineer A. Michael Noll and textures created for perceptional experiments by scientist Bela Julesz. By the end of the year the Galerie Niedlich, again in Stuttgart, exhibited algorithmic graphics of Georg Nees and his fellow mathematician Frieder Nake.
These early digital artists, especially Nees, Nake and Noll - the »3N« - are today regarded as the pioneers of computer art.
Bense also inspired the first international computer art exhibition »Cybernetic Serendipity« in London, 1968. Some of the computer graphics presented there can be seen on our »Serendipity!« pages.

In the early days the term computer art led to irritations. The art world widely rejected digital art, not only because some feared that a machine would soon replace the creative brain of the artist – no, worse: these natural scientists infiltrated the art world like aliens!
These fears were of course baseless. Today we find and know that there is a creative human brain behind every digital creation and this human – call him artist, software author or user – uses the computer as a major tool to create.
The alleged opposition of natural science and art and the humanities in general, which fueled many hefty discussions about computer art in the 1960s, is obviously becoming irrelevant with the progress of the digital age.

In fact the computer art expanded the possibilities as well as the understanding of the composition of images. As computer artist and collector Herbert W. Franke once put it*:

»Sure the computer is only the instrument – the medium that serves the realization of ideas –, but among the means which serve artistic goals it is still something extraordinary, because it´s influence goes beyond materialistic procedures: The very method of programming leads to a new way in designing and understanding pictures.«

*Quote from the exhibition catalogue »Ex Machina«, Kunsthalle Bremen.

Among the computer art created in the 1960s and 70s also musical and kinetic experiments and daring computer poetry can be found.
Most of these early digital creations are so called algorithmic art, because they are based on algorithms – a set of rules or instructions. Those algorithms were translated in a program language which made them machine-readable. Processed by a mainframe computer this program generated e.g. computer graphics and drove the automatic drawing process.

The era of »early computer art« ended in the early 1980s when the personal computer was introduced to the mass market. Now many people gained access to the digital art tool »computer«. As we all know, especially those of us who are old enough to remember the 80s, an unbelievable progress was triggered, that changed our daily life and also rolled up the art scene and art-making itself.

In conclusion, the existence of other definitions of »computer art« has to be pointed out: The V&A, the Victoria and Albert Museum for example, which owns a great collection of computer art, uses the term »computer art« solely for digitally generated works which were created between the early 1960s and the beginning of the 1980s.

The development of computer art – in the broadest sense – from the 1980s on is so diverse in its different aspects that a further definition would go too far beyond the context of this »Computer Art« exhibition. For more see Wikipedia: digital art.

For art historic details please check out the V&A´s computer art history as well as the bilingual exhibition catalogue »Ex Machina - Frühe Computergrafik bis 1979«, Kunsthalle Bremen 2007, which also offers an excellent computer art overview including the analog graphics of the 1950s (see Links & Books).
The websites of the computer art shows that took place between 2004 and 2009 at ZKM in Karlsruhe, Germany, also provide information: The »Algorithmic Revolution« and »bit international«. From the latter the book »A Little-Known Story about a Movement, a Magazine, and the Computer’s Arrival in Art« edited by Margit Rosen evolved – a must-read for computer art aficionados.

For more information on the design and the generative process of the graphics displayed on this website please visit: »Computer Art 1972«.


nach oben

New Photography

The term »New Photography« as it is used by this gallery means photographic images produced or marked by digital equipment and editing techniques and covers digitally generated photo-like pictures as well.
»New Photography« in that sense should not be confused with the modernist »Nieuwe Fotografie« in the Netherlands.

»New Photography« covers the complete bandwidth of contemporary photography as defined in the manifesto »FROM HERE ON« published at the exhibition of the same name 2011 at »Rencontres de la Photographie« in Arles, France. In that manifesto the curators (Clément Chéroux, Joan Fontcuberta, Erik Kessels, Martin Parr, Joachim Schmid) for example write:

»Now, we´re a species of Editors. We recycle, clip and cut, remix and upload.«

»All we need is an eye, a brain, a camera, a phone, a laptop, a scanner, a point of view.«

Therefore the spectrum of works in »New Photography« is extremely broad – the limits of photography have been pushed to new territories, the borders to some other forms of art have fallen. Due to this extreme diversity this introduction will be expanded according to the upcoming website contributions.


nach oben

Copyright Heike Werner
about / contact

HOME

ENGLISH

Die Website

Diese Website besteht seit seit Sommer 2012. Gegründet als »Heike Werner Galerie für Computerkunst und Neue Fotografie« ist sie von Anfang an als Online-Galerie konzipiert. Heute ist es eine reine Internet-Präsentation und die gezeigten Werke sind nicht verkäuflich.
Wenn Sie Fragen zu den gezeigten Arbeiten oder zu Computerkunst allgemein haben, schicken Sie einfach eine Mail!

Über Heike Werner:
Architekturstudium an der TUM,
Fachredakteurin, betreibt seit 2003
den Heike Werner Verlag


Hier nun zwei kurze Einführungen zu Computerkunst und Neue Fotografie:


Computerkunst

Unser heutiges Leben ist durchdrungen von Computerkunst. Nicht nur in den alten und neuen Medien stößt man allenthalben auf computergenerierte Bilder. Die Computerkunst verändert auch unser unmittelbares Umfeld, die Städte und Orte, in denen wir leben: In der Architektur ermöglicht die digitale Zeit Bauformen, die nur ein Computerhirn zu berechnen vermag und Visualisierungen, die nie gesehene künstliche Parallelwelten öffnen. Auch die Musik ist, spätestens seit Kraftwerk, im digitalen Zeitalter angekommen.

Die »Galerie für Computerkunst und Neue Fotografie« zeigt in ihren ersten Ausstellungsreihen »Serendipity!« und »Computerkunst 1972« ausschließlich Computergrafiken aus der Frühzeit der Computerkunst. Damals, in den 1960er und 70er Jahren, beherrschten Großrechner das Geschehen und die Software-Künstler dieser Tage waren meist Naturwissenschaftler – Mathematiker, Physiker, Ingenieure – jener ausgewählte Kreis von Menschen, der Zugang zu Großrechnern hatte.

Die Zeit der Computerkunst begann, überspitzt ausgedrückt, als die ersten Computermenschen ein Kunstbewusstsein entwickelten und ihre selbst programmierten Werke erstmals in Ausstellungen zeigten. Etliche Arbeiten waren bereits früher entstanden, doch der Eintritt in die Kunstwelt fand offiziell 1965 statt – in diesem Jahr wurden in Stuttgart und New York die ersten Computerkunst-Ausstellungen gezeigt.
Treibende Kraft in Stuttgart war Max Bense, Professor für Philosophie und Technik und einer der Begründer der Informationsästhetik. Die zweite Ausstellung dieser Website, »rot 40+1«, ist der von ihm konzipierten »edition rot« gewidmet. Er ermöglichte die erste Ausstellung Anfang des Jahres an der TH Stuttgart mit Computergrafiken des Mathematikers Georg Nees. Die Howard Wise Gallery in New York zeigte alsbald »Computer-Generated Pictures«, Computergrafiken des Ingenieurs A. Michael Noll sowie experimentelle Texturen des Wahrnehmungsforschers Bela Julesz. Ende des Jahres stellten in der Stuttgarter Galerie Niedlich wiederum Georg Nees und Frieder Nake, ebenfalls Mathematiker, algorithmische Grafiken aus.
Diese frühen Digitalkünstler, insbesondere Nees, Nake und Noll - die 3N - zählen heute zu den Pionieren der Computerkunst.
Max Bense gab auch den Anstoß für die erste international beachtete Computerkunst-Ausstellung »Cybernetic Serendipity« in London 1968. Einige in dieser Ausstellung gezeigte Grafiken zeigt die Online-Ausstellung Serendipity!.

Der Begriff Computerkunst führte seinerzeit zu Irritationen. In der Kunstwelt stieß die Digitale Kunst teils auf deutliche Ablehnung, nicht nur weil manche fürchteten, dass hier eine Maschine den kreativen Kopf eines Künstlers ersetzte – schlimmer: Naturwissenschaftler drangen wie Aliens in die Kunstwelt ein. Eine heftige Diskussion um die vermeintliche Gegensätzlichkeit von Geistes- und Naturwissenschaft flammte auf.
Dass hinter jeder digitalen Schöpfung ein kreativer Menschenkopf steckt, der den Computer als maßgebliches Werkzeug benutzt – ob man ihn nun Künstler, Software-Autor oder schlicht »Anwender« nennt – ist mittlerweile unumstritten.
Ebenso überholt scheint die damals herbeigeredete Unverträglichkeit von Naturwissenschaft und Kunst bzw. Geisteswissenschaft.
Vielmehr erweitert die Computerkunst die Möglichkeiten und das Verständnis von Bildgestaltung. Der Computergrafiker und Sammler Herbert W. Franke formulierte es einmal so*:

»Gewiss ist der Computer nur das Instrument – das Medium, das der Realisierung von Ideen dient –, aber in der Reihe der für künstlerische Zwecke eingesetzten Mittel ist er doch etwas Ungewöhnliches, weil sich sein Einfluss nicht auf materielle Vorgänge beschränkt: Die ihm gemäße Methode des Programmierens führt auch zu einer neuen Art Bilder zu entwerfen und zu verstehen.«

*Zitat aus dem Ausstellungskatalog »Ex Machina«, Kunsthalle Bremen.

Die Computerkunst der 1960er und 70er Jahre kennt neben grafischen Werken auch musikalische Experimente und kühne Computergedichte.
Die allermeisten dieser frühen digitalen Schöpfungen gehören zur sogenannten algorithmischen Kunst, da sie auf Algorithmen – das sind Regeln bzw. Handlungsanweisungen – basieren. Die mittels einer Programmiersprache maschinenlesbar gemachten Algorithmen erzeugten nach Verarbeitung im Großrechner zum Beispiel Grafiken in Form einer Plotterzeichnung.

Das Ende der Ära »Frühe Computerkunst« kam zu Beginn der 1980er Jahre mit der breiten Markteinführung des Personal Computer. Damit erhielt eine breite Masse an Nutzern Zugang zum digitalen Kunstwerkzeug Computer. Die fortschreitende Nutzung und Evolution der Computertechnik verändert seither unseren Alltag in allen Bereichen, auch im Bereich der Künste.

Hinzuweisen ist an dieser Stelle auf andere Definitionen von Computerkunst: Das V&A, das Victoria and Albert Museum etwa, das eine große Sammlung besitzt, wendet den Begriff »computer art« ausschließlich auf digital generierte Werke an, die zwischen den 1960er bis Anfang der 1980er Jahre entstanden.

Die Entwicklung der Computerkunst – im weitesten Sinne – ab den 1980er Jahren ist so vielfältig, dass Sie den Rahmen dieser kurzen Einführung sprengen würde. Deshalb an dieser Stelle ein Link zu dem Wikipedia-Artikel: Digitale Kunst.

Einen sehr guten Einblick in die frühe Computerkunst, der auch die Wegbereiter, die analogen Grafiken der 1950er Jahre umfasst, bietet der Katalog zur Ausstellung »Ex Machina - Frühe Computergrafik bis 1979: Die Sammlungen Franke und weitere Stiftungen in der Kunsthalle Bremen«, die 2007 stattfand (siehe auch Links & Literatur).
Eine höchst beachtenswerte Ausstellung zeigte auch das ZKM in Karlsruhe zwischen 2004 und 2008: »Die Algorithmische Revolution«. Die Website der Ausstellung bietet ausführliche Informationen, etwa eine Zeitleiste zur »Softwarekunst«, an der die Entwicklung der Computergrafik deutlich wird.
Eine kurze Computer-Kunstgeschichte auf Englisch bietet die Website des Victoria and Albert Museums.

Nähere Informationen zur Entstehungsgeschichte und Einordnung der hier vorgestellten Grafiken sind Teil der Seite »Computerkunst 1972«.


nach oben

Neue Fotografie

Der Begriff »Neue Fotografie« im Sinne dieser Galerie zielt auf das von digitalen Geräten und Bearbeitungstechniken geprägte fotografische Abbild, umfasst aber auch das digital erzeugte fotoähnliche Bild oder Collagen.
Diese »Neue Fotografie« ist daher nicht zu verwechseln mit der modernistischen niederländischen »Nieuwe Fotografie«.

»Neue Fotografie« ist hier ganz im Sinne des Manifests »FROM HERE ON« gemeint, das die Kuratoren (Clément Chéroux, Joan Fontcuberta, Erik Kessels, Martin Parr, Joachim Schmid) der gleichnamigen Ausstellung 2011 bei der »Rencontres de la Photographie« im französischen Arles verfassten. Dort heißt es unter anderem:

»Heute nun sind wir eine Spezies von Bearbeitern. Wir recyceln, montieren und schneiden, mischen neu und laden hoch.«

»Alles was wir brauchen ist ein Auge, ein Gehirn, eine Kamera, ein Telefon, einen Laptop, einen Scanner, einen Standpunkt.«

Die Arbeiten der »Neuen Fotografen« können so unterschiedlich sein, dass dieser Text je nach Beitrag zur Website erweitert wird.


nach oben
Copyright Heike Werner
Impressum / Kontakt