HOME

DEUTSCH

Kubo-Oktaeder (Cuboctahedron)

Rase-Nees: Architecture Meets Early Computer Art


When architect Ludwig Rase and computer art pioneer Georg Nees teamed up, their work turned out to be a milestone in computer aided architectural design. Apart from designing system building structures, they also created one of the earliest and best known computer graphics with an architectural reference: The »Kubo-Oktaeder«, also known as Cubo-Octaeder or Cuboctahedron.


 origins: the computer in the architectural design process

By the end of the 1960´s the United States had already started creating early applications of computer programs in the architectural design process. Among the first examples are some of Richard Buckminster Fuller´s geodesic domes, for which architect Ronald »Ron« Resch calculated the bar structures in different variations by using a computer program. These geodesic domes, developed as system buildings, were widely used as exhibition stand constructions.

In Germany, the first built architectural construction based on plans developed by the use of a computer, was the Siemens pavilion located at the Hannover Messe of 1970. The pavilion was a modular roof structure supported by columns, which was also a system building designed by architect Ludwig Rase. Georg Nees created the program in ALGOL for a Siemens System 4004.

Siemens 4004 Poster 0
The Siemens pavilion at the Hannover Messe of 1970 presented on a poster: The Computer in Construction Design.

Georg Vrachliotis describes the design process in his book »Geregelte Verhältnisse«: »Nees did in this case not only act as an artist, but also in the role of the technical expert and architectural assistant in the sense of Gropius, writing a computer program, which was able to calculate the optimum size of the basic module for the roof structure. The clou of the program was, that Nees managed to generate different versions of the basic module and to calculate a three-dimensional model of the pavilion´s structure for each of the different sized module versions. Indeed, Rase had determined the overall concept, but the design of the different versions was no longer in his hands.«*
The computer turned out to be a major contributor to the design process. Siemens pavilion of 1970 became a medium of advertisement where the company used the slogan: »Siemens 4004 designed exhibition stand«.

This early use of computers to solve architectural design problems was setting a trend for CAD in architectural offices and design. This system building shows the computer´s influence on the final construction design. Ludwig Rase stated three major benefits of integrating a computer in the design process: it enabled to work on a higher level of structural systematics, helped to deal with structural complexity and was able to produce a decidedly higher number of design variations to choose from.

*Quote from the book »Geregelte Verhältnisse: Architektur und technisches Denken in der Epoche der Kybernetik« by Georg Vrachliotis (currently only available in German).

nach oben

 nees-rase: computer art meets architecture

Besides the Siemens pavilion at the Hannover Messe 1970, Rase and Nees developed another exhibition stand for the German Industries´ Fair in São Paulo, 1971. This pyramid-shaped pavilion was presented ahead of its construction in an innovative film using computer graphics to pre-view the soon to be built exhibition stand.

In 1970/71 Ludwig Rase, working at the Design-Institute Munich, further developed a modular structure for housing and city planning. The basic module was a »Kubo-Oktaeder«, a cuboctahedron. See Wikipedia: Cuboctahedron. Georg Nees also wrote programs for this more utopian project. Some elements of the designed structure were presented in the International Gardening Exhibition in Hamburg 1973 (IGA 1973), as a temporary pavilion. See images at IGA Hamburg 1973.


scale model of cuboctahedron housing structure by Ludwig Rase
Scale model of the cuboctahedron housing structure.*
0 scale model of cuboctahedron city structure by Ludwig Rase
Ludwig Rase´s modular city structure.*

In this case, the computer was also used for layout design. Ludwig Rase describes the use of the computer to design the overall structure: »The challenge now is to assemble the housing elements in the most optimized way regarding the space-allocation plan. The solution can be calculated by using a computer, taking into consideration that each module can have different functions (...). The programming of the individual spatial functions is based on a »atomic model«. Each spatial unit is regarded as an atom, which can have different functions; according to given valencies, these housing units can be connected to groups (...). The spatial perspective necessary for such planning, exceeds by far the spatial sense of the designer. By using a data processing system the accurate solutions can be visualized and optimized spatial groups can be formed.«*

In 1972 Ludwig Rase (design) and Georg Nees (program) won an art competition for a sculpture at the Werner-von-Siemens-Gymnasium in Regensburg, Germany. The sculpture »Kubo-Oktaeder«, a chromed MERO-structure of cuboctahedrons, can be seen in the theatre yard of the school.

*Quote and images from Ludwig Rase: Two- and Three-Dimensional Computer Design, in NOVUM Gebrauchsgraphik August 8/1972

nach oben

 the computer graphic: kubo-oktaeder


rase-nees: kubo-oktaeder 0
Ludwig Rase, Georg Nees: Kubo-Oktaeder
screen print for the exhibition »computer art« at Kunsthalle Hamburg 1972/73

screen print after plotter drawing, 1972

Idea: Georg Nees, Ludwig Rase
Program: Georg Nees
Generated 1968-1970 (acc. catalogue »Ex Machina«), likely in Munich, Germany.
Programmed in ALGOL for
Siemens 4004 (acc. to print) and
drawn on a ZUSE-Graphomat Z64.



This screen print showing the computer graphic »Kubo-Oktaeder« was printed in 1972 for the exhibition »computer art. nees rase.«, which took place at the Kunsthalle in Hamburg, Germany between 29.9.1972 and 14.1.1973.

The graphic is composed of two motifs: a human figure in two elevations and an architectural structure.
The human figure is shown frontal and on the side, displaying the auxiliary lines used in constructing the drawing.
The two elevations resemble the scale figures used in many architectural illustrations, positioned besides a structure formed by aligned and overlying cuboctahedrons. The drawing of the cuboctahedron structure used in this computer graphic, is a rotated version of a computer generated isometric drawing of Ludwig Rase´s housing structure.
The combination of the two motifs is probably the reason why there are more than one year given for the generative process. The catalogue »Ex Machina« gives the years 1968-1970, and quotes Georg Nees, by giving the generative credits to the Siemens 2002 computer (probably for the figures).


nach oben

 artists profiles

Ludwig Rase (1925-2009)
Born 1925 in Nuremberg, Germany, studied architecture 1945-51 at TU Munich, Germany, worked with Georg Nees from 1969 to 1973, participated at Biennale in Venice 1970, lived and worked in Munich, Germany.

Georg Nees (1926-2016)
Born 1926 in Nuremberg, Germany, studied mathematics, physics and philosophy in Erlangen and in Stuttgart, Germany. As a student with Max Bense first exhibition of computer art in Germany. Ph.D. in 1969 in »Generative Computergraphik«. Worked with Ludwig Rase from 1969 to 1973. Nees is a pioneer of computer art, his works were shown in multiple exhibitions. Lives in Erlangen, Germany.


The computer graphic »Kubo-Oktaeder« has been on display in many exhibitions, for example:
»computer art. nees rase.«, Hamburger Kunsthalle, Hamburg, Germany, 1972/73
»tendencies 5« Section: Computer Visual Research, MSU Zagreb, Croatia (formerly Yugoslavia), 1973
»I Am Still Alive«, PM gallery, Mi2 Institute, u.a., Zagreb, Croatia, 2000
»Ex Machina – Frühe Computergrafik bis 1979« Kunsthalle Bremen, Germany, 2007
»bit international. [Nove] tendencije. Computer und visuelle Forschung Zagreb 1961-1973« Neue Galerie Graz am Landesmuseum Joanneum, Austria, 2007
»bit international« ZKM Karlsruhe, Germany, 2008-2009

»Kubo-Oktaeder« e.g. publicized in:
Computer-Grafik Galerie. Herbert W. Franke (1984)
Ex Machina – Frühe Computergrafik bis 1979. Hrsg. Wulf Herzogenrath und Barbara Nierhoff-Wielk (2007)
bit international. [Nove] tendencije. Computer und visuelle Forschung Zagreb 1961-1973. Hrsg. Neue Galerie Graz (2007)
bit international. [Nove] tendencije. Computer und visuelle Forschung Zagreb 1961-1973. Hrsg. Peter Weibel und Margit Rosen (ZKM, 2008)
A Little-Known Story about a Movement, a Magazine and the Computer´s Arrival in Art: New Tendencies and Bit International. Hrsg. Margit Rosen (2011)

Books on architecture and early computer art (mostly in German):
Computergraphik - Computerkunst. Herbert W. Franke (1985)
Ludwig Rase: Two- and Three-Dimensional Computer Design. In: NOVUM Gebrauchsgraphik August 8/1972
Geregelte Verhältnisse: Architektur und technisches Denken in der Epoche der Kybernetik. Georg Vrachliotis (2012)
Ingeborg M. Rocker: Berechneter Zufall. Max Benses Informationsästhetik. In: Kulturtechnik Entwerfen Hrsg.: Gethmann und Hanser (2009)
see also Links & Books

nach oben

Copyright Heike Werner
about / contact

HOME

ENGLISH

Kubo-Oktaeder

Rase-Nees: Architektur trifft frühe Computerkunst


Aus der Zusammenarbeit des Architekten Ludwig Rase mit dem Computerkunst-Pionier Georg Nees entstand nicht nur eine Reihe von Entwürfen für Systembauten, es entstand auch eine der bekanntesten frühen Computergrafiken mit architektonischem Bezug, der »Kubo-Oktaeder«.


 die anfänge: der computer in der architekturgestaltung

In den USA testete man den Einsatz des Computers in der Architektur bereits Ende der 1960er Jahre, zu den frühesten Beispielen zählen hier einige von Richard Buckminster Fuller entworfene geodätische Kuppeln, deren Stabstrukturen der Architekt Ron (Ronald) Resch seinerzeit mit Hilfe eines Computers berechnete und Varianten erstellte. Die als Systembauten entwickelten Kuppelkonstruktionen kamen häufig im Messebau zum Einsatz.

In Deutschland wurde im Jahr 1970 mit dem Siemens-Messepavillon in Hannover der erste mit Hilfe des Computers entwickelte Bauplan realisiert. Es handelte sich um eine auf Stützen ruhende, modulare Dachstruktur, ebenfalls ein Systembau. Architekt war Ludwig Rase, Georg Nees programmierte das zugrunde liegende Programm in ALGOL für die Siemens 4004 Rechenanlage.

Siemens 4004 Werbeplakat 0
Der Messepavillon von 1970 auf einem Werbeplakat der Firma Siemens: Computer in der Baugestaltung.

Georg Vrachliotis beschreibt den Entwurfsprozess in seinem Buch »Geregelte Verhältnisse«: »Nees, der hier nicht als Künstler, sondern in der Rolle des technischen Spezialisten und Architekturassistenten im Gropiusschen Sinn fungierte, schrieb für Rase ein Computerprogramm, mit dem sich die optimale Größe des Grundmoduls für das Dach berechnen ließ. Der Clou des Programms bestand darin, dass Nees es schaffte unterschiedliche Varianten des Grundmoduls zu generieren und je nach Modulgröße ein entsprechendes dreidimensionales Modell der Konstruktion des Pavillons zu errechnen. Zwar hatte Rase das übergeordnete Konzept bestimmt, das Design der einzelnen Varianten lag jedoch jetzt nicht mehr in seiner Hand.«*
Der Computer trug damit wesentlich zur Gestaltfindung bei, so dass die Firma Siemens letztlich mit der Schlagzeile warb: »Siemens 4004 entwirft Messestand«. Der mit dem Siemens System 4004 entworfene Pavillon für die Hannover Messe 1970 war als solches ein Werbeträger.

Dieser Einsatz des Computers bei der Lösung architektonischer Gestaltungsprobleme war zukunftsweisend für dessen Verwendung in der Architektur. An dem Systembau wird sein Einfluss auf die letztliche Baugestalt deutlich. Ludwig Rase nannte die drei wesentlichen Vorteile, die der Computer zum Designprozess beitrug: er ermöglichte eine höhere Systematik, half bei der Bewältigung struktureller Komplexität und ermöglichte eine deutlich höhere Anzahl von Entwurfsvarianten.

*Zitat aus dem Buch »Geregelte Verhältnisse: Architektur und technisches Denken in der Epoche der Kybernetik« von Georg Vrachliotis.

nach oben

 nees-rase: computerkunst trifft architektur

Außer dem Siemens-Pavillon für die Hannover Messe 1970 entwickelten Rase und Nees einen weiteren Messepavillon für die Deutsche Industrieausstellung in São Paulo, 1971. Für diesen pyramidenförmigen Pavillon entstand bereits in der Entwurfsphase ein innovativer, mit Hilfe von Computergrafiken erstellter Film, der den Bau vor der Fertigstellung zeigte.

1970/71 entwarf Ludwig Rase am Design-Institut München zudem eine modulare Wohn- und Stadtstruktur, deren Basismodul ein Kubo-Oktaeder, auch Kuboktaeder genannt, ist. Siehe Wikipedia: Kubo-Oktaeder. Georg Nees schrieb auch hierfür die Programme. Elemente dieses Strukturentwurfs wurden anlässlich der Internationalen Gartenbauausstellung Hamburg 1973 (IGA 1973) in Form eines temporären Pavillons der Hamburger Elektrizitätswerke an der Marseiller Straße errichtet. Siehe Bildstrecke zur IGA Hamburg 1973.

Modell Wohnstruktur aus Kubo-Oktaedern von Ludwig Rase
Das Modell der Wohnstruktur aus Kubo-Oktaedern.*
0 Stadtstruktur aus Kubo-Oktaedern von Ludwig Rase
Rases modulare Stadtstruktur.*

Der Computer kam hier auch bei der Grundrissgestaltung zum Einsatz. Ludwig Rase beschreibt den Computereinsatz bei der der modularen Gesamtanlage so: »Es ist nun die Aufgabe, diese Wohnelemente in der dem Raumprogramm günstigsten Form aneinanderzusetzen. Die Lösung ist mit Hilfe eines Computers ermittelbar, wobei jede Raumeinheit verschiedene Funktionen erfüllen kann (...). Die Programmierung dieser einzelnen Raumfunktionen erfolgt nach einem »atomaren Modell«. Jede Raumeinheit wird als Atom betrachtet, das die verschiedensten Funktionen erfüllen kann; durch Verbindungswertigkeiten können mehrere Wohnteile aneinander angeschlossen werden (...). Die räumliche Anschauung, die bei einer solchen Planung erforderlich ist, überschreitet bei weitem das Vorstellungsvermögen des Entwerfers. Mit Hilfe von Datenverarbeitungsanlagen können die richtigen Lösungen visualisiert und optimale Raumgruppen geschaffen werden.«*

Im Jahr 1972 gewannen Ludwig Rase (Gestaltung) und Georg Nees (Programmierung) den Wettbewerb eines »Kunst am Bau«-Projekts für das Werner-von-Siemens-Gymnasium in Regensburg. Die Freiskulptur »Kubo-Oktaeder«, ein verchromtes Mero-Gerüst aus Kubo-Oktaeder-Modulen, ist im Theaterhof der Schule zu sehen.

*Zitat und Abbildungen aus Ludwig Rase: Computerdesign für Raum und Fläche. In: NOVUM Gebrauchsgraphik August 8/1972

nach oben

 die grafik: kubo-oktaeder


rase-nees_kubo-oktaeder 0
Ludwig Rase, Georg Nees: Kubo-Oktaeder
Siebdruck zur Ausstellung »computer art« Kunsthalle Hamburg 1972/73

Siebdruck nach Plotterzeichnung, 1972

Idee: Georg Nees, Ludwig Rase
Programm: Georg Nees
Generiert 1968-1970 (lt. Katalog »Ex Machina«), vermutlich in München
Programmiert in ALGOL für
Siemens 4004 (laut Bez. im Druck),
gezeichnet mit ZUSE-Graphomat Z64



Dieser Siebdruck mit der Computergrafik »Kubo-Oktaeder / Cubo-Octaeder« entstand 1972 anlässlich der Ausstellung »computer art. nees rase.«, die zwischen 29.9.1972 und 14.1.1973 in der Hamburger Kunsthalle gezeigt wurde.

Die Grafik besteht aus zwei Motiven: Einem menschlichen Körper in zwei Ansichten und einer architektonischen Struktur.
Der menschliche Körper ist einmal frontal und einmal seitlich dargestellt, dabei werden die entsprechenden konstruktiven Hilfslinien sichtbar gelassen, die auf einer jeweiligen Mittelachse die Lage der gezeichneten Körperlinien markieren.
Die zwei Körper stehen wie die in Architekturdarstellungen üblichen Maßstabs- bzw. Proportionsfiguren neben einer Struktur aus aneinandergereihten und sich überlagernden Kubo-Oktaedern. Die Darstellung der Kubo-Oktaeder, die für diese Grafik benutzt wurde, ist die gedrehte, durch einen Computer erzeugte Isometrie der von Ludwig Rase entworfenen Wohnstruktur.
Die Kombination zweier Motive ist wohl der Grund, weshalb die Entstehungszeit verschiedene Jahreszahlen umfasst. Der Ausstellungskatalog »Ex Machina« nennt den Zeitraum 1968-1970, und zitiert Georg Nees, nach dem die Grafik (gemeint ist vermutlich die Körperdarstellung) ursprünglich mit einem Siemens-Digitalrechner 2002 generiert wurde.


nach oben

 zur person

Ludwig Rase (1925-2009)
Geboren 1925 in Nürnberg, Architekturstudium TU München 1945-51, Zusammenarbeit mit Georg Nees von 1969 bis 1973, Teilnahme an der Biennale in Venedig 1970, lebte und arbeitete in München.

Georg Nees (1926-2016)
Geboren in Nürnberg, Studium der Mathematik, der Physik und der Philosophie in Erlangen und in Stuttgart. Als Student bei Max Bense erste Ausstellung von Computerkunst in Stuttgart. 1969 (Ph.D.) Doktorarbeit »Generative Computergraphik« bei Max Bense. Zusammenarbeit mit Ludwig Rase von 1969 bis 1973. Nees zählt zu den Pionieren der Computerkunst, seine Werke wurden in zahlreichen Ausstellungen gezeigt. Lebt in Erlangen.


Die Grafik »Kubo-Oktaeder« wurde bereits in zahlreichen Ausstellungen gezeigt, unter anderem in:
»computer art. nees rase.«, Hamburger Kunsthalle, 29.9.1972 - 14.1.1973
»tendencies 5« Sektion: Computer Visual Research, MSU Zagreb, Kroatien (damals Jugoslawien), 1973
»I Am Still Alive«, PM gallery, Mi2 Institute, u.a., Zagreb, Kroatien, 2000
»Ex Machina – Frühe Computergrafik bis 1979« Kunsthalle Bremen, 2007
»bit international. [Nove] tendencije. Computer und visuelle Forschung Zagreb 1961-1973« Neue Galerie Graz am Landesmuseum Joanneum, 2007
»bit international« ZKM Karlsruhe, 2008-2009

»Kubo-Oktaeder« u.a. publiziert in:
Computer-Grafik Galerie. Herbert W. Franke (1984)
Ex Machina – Frühe Computergrafik bis 1979. Hrsg. Wulf Herzogenrath und Barbara Nierhoff-Wielk (2007)
bit international. [Nove] tendencije. Computer und visuelle Forschung Zagreb 1961-1973. Hrsg. Neue Galerie Graz (2007)
bit international. [Nove] tendencije. Computer und visuelle Forschung Zagreb 1961-1973. Hrsg. Peter Weibel und Margit Rosen (ZKM, 2008)
A Little-Known Story about a Movement, a Magazine and the Computer´s Arrival in Art: New Tendencies and Bit International. Hrsg. Margit Rosen (2011)

Literatur zum Thema »Architektur und frühe Computergrafik«:
Computergraphik - Computerkunst. Herbert W. Franke (1985)
Computerdesign für Raum und Fläche. Ludwig Rase. In: NOVUM Gebrauchsgraphik August 8/1972
Geregelte Verhältnisse: Architektur und technisches Denken in der Epoche der Kybernetik. Georg Vrachliotis (2012)
Ingeborg M. Rocker: Berechneter Zufall. Max Benses Informationsästhetik. In: Kulturtechnik Entwerfen Hrsg.: Gethmann und Hauser (2009)
siehe auch Links & Literatur

nach oben
Copyright Heike Werner
Impressum / Kontakt