HOME

DEUTSCH

Serendipity!

The »Cybernetic Serendipity« Exhibition is a milestone in the history of computer art. It was held between August 1 and October 20, 1968, at the ICA, the Institute of Contemporary Art, Nash House, The Mall, London.
In »Serendipity!« we present the lithographs printed for the Cybernetic Serendipity collector´s set in 1968.


 Cybernetic Serendipity

1968, three years after the first computer art exhibitions had been held at small galleries in Stuttgart and New York, the first large and internationally recognized show of digital art took place in London.
Jasia Reichardt, the curator of »Cybernetic Serendipity«, presented the complete bandwidth of early computer art by displaying works of 325 computer artists - from computer generated music, literature, graphics and films to different objects, sculptures and robots and also displaying state of the art hardware and its capabilities.

The inspiration for this legendary show came from Max Bense, who had organized the first computer art exhibition ever 1965 in Stuttgart, Germany, presenting works of Georg Nees. Read more on Max Bense on our red 40+1 page.

The London exhibition, which drew about 50.000 visitors, later traveled to the U.S. where a lean version of »Cybernetic Serendipity« was shown at the Corcoran Gallery in Washington D.C. and at The Exploratorium in San Francisco. See images of the exhibition at www.medienkunstnetz.de.


nach oben

 Cyber What?

The meaning of the exhibition title is defined in the catalogue:

Cybernetic: »adj. of cybernetics - a science of control and communication in complex electronic machines like computers and the human nervous system«

Serendipity: »the faculty of making happy chance discoveries«

In the exhibition´s press release Reichardt explains, that the term serendipity was coined by Horace Walpole in 1754 for happy chance discoveries. Walpole was inspired by the legend of the three princes of Serendip (historical name of Sri Lanka), who made multiple surprising discoveries while travelling, which offered them unplanned and lucky chances. See Wikipedia: Serendipity, The Three Princes ....

The term cybernetic, used by Norbert Wiener in his book »Cybernetics«, 1948, in the context of data processing the first time, developed into the prefix cyber, which today is heavily used, mostly to describe internet or virtual space phenomenons. See Wikipedia: Cybernetics,


nach oben

 The Catalogue


Cybernetic Serendipity 0
Cybernetic Serendipity
- the computer and the arts.
Studio International special issue

The first edition was published in July 1968, followed by a (revised) second edition in September and reprints in November 1968, in the U.S. in 1969 and again in 1970.

cover design: Franciszka Themerson, incorporating the computer graphics »3 D« by Donald K. Robbins / »Circle to Square transformation of Leonardo da Vinci´s interpretation of Vitruvius´ theory of proportion« by Charles Csuri / »The result of Fourier analysis on X-ray crystallography of the molecular structure or chicken fat« by B.L. Kershaw (on back side).

Jasia Reichardt, curator of Cybernetic Serendipity, also edited the exhibition catalogue, a special issue of the modern art journal Studio International: Cybernetic Serendipity - the computer and the arts.
Franciszka Themerson, who did the exhibition design, designed the cover.


nach oben

 The Motif Edition

In 1968 Motif Editions, a London based publisher of fine art prints, released a Cybernetic Serendipity collector´s set containing seven lithographs. The lithographs were printed after plotter drawings on watermarked paper.

These lithographs are part of important computer art collections like the one of the Victoria and Albert Museum in London. All these computer graphics, which are also shown in the catalogue, were created by Japanese and American pioneers of computer art:


nach oben

 Running Cola is Africa


Running Cola is Africa 0
CTG - Computer Technique Group:
Running Cola is Africa
lithograph after plotter drawing, 1968

Idea by Masao Komura, Data by Makoto Ohtake, Programmed by Koji Fujino. Realization with support of IBM Japan.
The graphic was generated 1967/68 at IBM Scientific Data Centre in Tokyo, Japan.
Programmed in Fortran IV on IBM 7090 and drawn on Calcomp 563 plotter.

The Computer Technique Group from Japan contributed 24 computer graphics and also works of computer poetry to the Cybernetic Serendipity exhibition. »Running Cola is Africa« is one of the graphics listed in Jasia Reichardt´s Cybernetic Serendipity catalogue in the category Metamorphoses: »A computer algorithm converts a running man into a bottle of cola, which in turn is converted into the map of Africa.«
This graphic is one of the earliest examples of morphing, image transformation by computer.

The members of the CTG according to the catalogue were: Haruki Tsuchiya (systems engineer), Masao Komura (product designer), Kuni Yamanaka (aeronautic engineer); Junichiro Kazizaki (electronic engineer), Makoto Ohtake (architectural designer), Koji Fujino (systems engineer) and Fujio Niwa (systems engineer). ´


nach oben

 Return to Square


Return to Square 0
CTG - Computer Technique Group:
Return to Square
lithograph after plotter drawing, 1968

Idea by Masao Komura, programmed by Kunio Yamanaka. Realization with support of IBM Japan.
Generated 1967/68 at IBM Scientific Data Centre in Tokyo, Japan.
Programmed in Fortran IV on IBM 7090 and drawn on Calcomp 563 plotter.

»Return to Square« also belongs to the Metamorphoses graphics mentioned above and is also an early example of morphing. As Jasia Reichardt´s Cybernetic Serendipity catalogue describes: »A square is transformed into a profile of a woman and then back into a square, programmed according to an arithmetic series.« This motif is listed as »Return to Square (a)«, a second motif, (b), was programmed according to geometrical progression.


nach oben

 Asymmetry (Maughanogram)


Asymmetry 0
Maughan S. Mason:
Asymmetry (Maughanogram)
lithograph after plotter drawing, 1968
(the signature is printed - and the moiré pattern was intended by the artist)

This graphic was generated 1966 by an analog computer and drawn by a XY plotter.

»Asymmetry« is one of the so called Maughanograms created by the American computer artist Maughan Sterling Manson. This graphic and two other Maughanograms are depicted in the Cybernetic Serendipity catalogue. Before the London exhibition these graphics had been on display at the Salt Lake Art Center, Salt Lake City, Utah.
The moiré pattern in this graphic was intended and created by the artist.

Maughan S. Manson (1931 - 2003) had a MS in Physics, was president of the Society for Computer Simulation and had worked for IBM as a computer programmer for 25 years.


nach oben

 Human Figure


Human Figure 0
William Fetter / Boeing Computer Graphics:
Human Figure
lithograph after plotter drawing, 1968

Generated 1968 (according to V&A).
Hardware: Keypunch, IBM/reader printer, IBM 7094, Gerber plotter.

»Human Figure« depicts a pilot performing a sequence of movements. The figure was created for the aircraft company Boeing to study and optimize the location of cockpit instruments. The results of these studies then were used to develop the Boeing 747 cockpit.

William Fetter (1928 - 2002) worked for Boeing as an art director in the 1960s where he created the first computer model of the human body in 1964, the »Boeing Man«.


nach oben

 The Snail


The Snail 0
Kerry Strand / California Computer Products: The Snail
lithograph after plotter drawing, 1968
The graphic has a moiré pattern.

Generated 1967 on a Calcomp 770 tape system, drawn on Calcomp 702 flatbed plotter.

»The Snail« was one of 7 computer graphics by different artists presented by CalComp in the Cybernetic Serendipity exhibition, also to demonstrate the capability of the CalComp plotting system. Plotting time for »The Snail« had been 4.5 hours.

Kerry Strand (born 1940) studied engineering and physics and worked for CalComp Technology, Anaheim, California, from 1966 to 1972. CalComp or California Computer Products produced computer hardware like the CalComp plotters.


nach oben

 Random War


Random War 0
Charles Csuri and James Shaffer / Ohio State University:
Random War
lithograph after plotter drawing, 1968

Generated in 1967 at Ohio State University.

»Random War« is the result of an early computer model trying to predict the outcome of an imaginary battle with few variables. As the 1968 Motif Edition text sheet describes it: »A drawing was made of one toy soldier which provided data for the basic element of the composition. A random number generator was used in the programme to determine the distribution and position of the soldiers on the battlefield. One side is red, and other black, and the name of real people were given to each soldier. Their military ranks were assigned by the random number generator. The programme also had an automatic control for perspective. A picture 30x100 inches of the battle was produced, and the printout gave the following information : Total number of dead and wounded in alphabetical order - The survivors in alphabetical order.«

Charles Csuri (born 1922) is an artist and one of the pioneers of computer art. Together with James Shaffer he created quite a few iconic works of early computer art at Ohio State University. In 2012 Csuri developed an online game based on Random War, which is available for facebook members.


nach oben

 3D Checkerboard Pattern


3D Checkerboard Pattern 0
Donald K. Robbins / Sandia Corporation:
3D Checkerboard Pattern
lithograph after plotter drawing, 1968

Generated ca. 1968

»3D Checkerboard Pattern« is one of the iconic graphics of the Cybernetic Serendipity exhibition. It was used for the cover of the exhibition catalogue. As the 1968 Motif Edition text sheet describes it, this graphic visualizes the »bug problem« in calculus: »If four bugs are placed on the corners of a square and crawl towards each other, what path will they follow?« A basic pattern is created. The resulting graphic reproduces this basic pattern into a checkerboard and a »further progression shows the checkerboard as a three-dimensional entity, with a shape distorted by perspective transformations.«




nach oben

Copyright Heike Werner
about / contact

HOME

ENGLISH

Serendipity!

Die Ausstellung »Cybernetic Serendipity« ist ein Meilenstein in der Geschichte der Computerkunst. Sie fand zwischen dem 2. August und dem 20. Oktober 1968 in den Räumen des ICA, des Institute of Contemporary Art, Nash House, The Mall, London, statt.
»Serendipity!« zeigt die Lithographien, die 1968 anlässlich der Ausstellung für eine spezielle Sammleredition, das Cybernetic Serendipity Collector´s Set, hergestellt wurden.


 Cybernetic Serendipity

1968, drei Jahre nachdem in Stuttgart und New York erstmals Computerkunst in Galerien zu sehen war, fand in London die erste große und international beachtete Ausstellung digitaler Kunst statt: »Cybernetic Serendipity«.

Die Kuratorin der Ausstellung, Jasia Reichardt, vereinte die Werke von 325 Computerkünstlern und präsentierte erstmals die ganze Bandbreite der frühen Computerkunst - von computergenerierter Musik, Literatur, Grafik und Film über verschiedenartige Objekte, Skulpturen und Roboter bis hin zu aktueller Hardware, deren Einsatzmöglichkeiten man demonstrierte.

Den Anstoß zu dieser legendären Ausstellung gab Max Bense, der 1965 in Stuttgart die weltweit erste Ausstellung von Computerkunst mit Arbeiten von Georg Nees organisiert hatte. Mehr zu Max Bense in rot 40+1.

Die Ausstellung, die in London rund 50.000 Besucher anzog, wurde in den folgenden Jahren in verkleinerter Form auch in der Corcoran Gallery, Washington D.C., und in The Exploratorium in San Francisco gezeigt. Einen Artikel und Bilder zur Ausstellung gibt es bei www.medienkunstnetz.de.


nach oben

 Cyber-Was?

Cybernetic Serendipity : Kybernetische Serendipität.

Den Titel der Ausstellung definiert der Katalog wie folgt:

Cybernetic: »Adj. von Kybernetik - die Lehre von der Kontrolle und Kommunikation in komplexen elektronischen Maschinen wie Computern und im menschlichen Nervensystem«

Serendipity: »die Fähigkeit erfreuliche Zufallsentdeckungen zu machen«

In der Presseerklärung der Ausstellung erläutert Reichardt, dass der Begriff Serendipity 1754 von Horace Walpole für glückliche Zufallsentdeckungen geprägt wurde. Abgeleitet von der Legende der drei Prinzen von Serendip (ein historischer Name von Sri Lanka), die auf ihren Reisen viele zufällige Entdeckungen machten, die stets ungeplant waren und nicht ihrem eigentlichen Ziel entsprachen, aber zu glücklichen Wendungen führten.
Siehe auch Wikipedia: Serendipität und The Three Princes ...

Aus dem Begriff Cybernetics, der 1948 erstmals von Norbert Wiener in dessen Buch »Cybernetics« in Bezug auf die Datenverarbeitung angewandt wurde, entstand das heute allseits verwendete Präfix Cyber, das meist zur Beschreibung von Phänomenen im Internet oder im virtuellen Raum benutzt wird. Siehe Wikipedia: Kybernetik


nach oben

 Der Ausstellungskatalog


Cybernetic Serendipity 0
Cybernetic Serendipity
- the computer and the arts.
Studio International special issue

Die erste Ausgabe erschien im Juli 1968, gefolgt von einer überarbeiteten, zweiten Auflage im September mit Nachdrucken im November 1968, 1969 in den USA sowie 1970.

Umschlagentwurf: Franciszka Themerson - unter Verwendung der Computergrafiken
»3 D«, Donald K. Robbins / »Circle to Square transformation of Leonardo da Vinci´s interpretation of Vitruvius´ theory of proportion«, Charles Csuri / »The result of Fourier analysis on X-ray crystallography of the molecular structure or chicken fat«, B.L. Kershaw (auf der Rückseite).

Jasia Reichardt, die Kuratorin der Cybernetic Serendipity Ausstellung, war auch Herausgeberin des Katalogs, der in Form einer Sonderausgabe des Kunstmagazins Studio International erschien: Cybernetic Serendipity - the computer and the arts.
Franciszka Themerson, die das Ausstellungsdesign entwickelt hatte, gestaltete den Einband.


nach oben

 Die Motif Edition

Der Londoner Kunstdruck-Verlag Motif Editions gab anlässlich der Ausstellung das Cybernetic Serendipity Collector´s Set eine aus sieben Lithographien bestehende Sammleredition heraus. Die Lithographien nach einigen in der Ausstellung gezeigten Plotterzeichnungen wurden 1968 auf hochwertigem, mit Wasserzeichen gemarktem Papier gedruckt.
Die Lithographien sind Bestandteil der wichtigsten Sammlungen zur Computerkunst, etwa der des Victoria and Albert Museum in London, denn die Computergrafiken stammen von japanischen und amerikanischen Pionieren der Computerkunst. Abbildungen dieser Grafiken sind auch im Ausstellungskatalog zu finden:


nach oben

 Running Cola is Africa


Running Cola is Africa 0
CTG - Computer Technique Group:
Running Cola is Africa
Lithografie nach Plotterzeichnung, 1968

Idee: Masao Komura, Daten: Makoto Ohtake, Programm: Koji Fujino. Unterstützt von IBM Japan.
Generiert 1967/68 im IBM Scientific Data Centre in Tokio, Japan.
Programmiert in Fortran IV für IBM 7090, gezeichnet mit einem Calcomp 563 Plotter.

Die aus Japan stammende Computer Technique Group beteiligte sich mit 24 Computergrafiken und auch mit Computergedichten an der Cybernetic Serendipity Ausstellung. »Running Cola is Africa« ist eine der Grafiken, die in Jasia Reichardts Cybernetic Serendipity Katalog in der Kategorie Metamorphosen eingeordnet sind: »Ein Computer-Algorithmus verwandelt einen Läufer in eine Cola-Flasche, die wiederum in eine Afrika-Karte verwandelt wird.«
Die Computergrafik gehört zu den frühesten Beispielen des Morphing, der computergestützten Transformation von Bildmotiven.

Die Mitglieder der CTG waren laut Ausstellungskatalog: Haruki Tsuchiya (Systemingenieur), Masao Komura (Produktdesigner), Kuni Yamanaka (Luftfahrtingenieur); Junichiro Kazizaki (Elektroingenieur), Makoto Ohtake (Architekt), Koji Fujino (Systemingenieur) und Fujio Niwa (Systemingenieur).


nach oben

 Return to Square


Return to Square 0
CTG - Computer Technique Group (CTG):
Return to Square
Lithografie nach Plotterzeichnung, 1968

Idee: Masao Komura, Programm: Kunio Yamanaka. Unterstützt von IBM Japan.
Generiert 1967/68 im IBM Scientific Data Centre in Tokio, Japan.
Programmiert in Fortran IV für IBM 7090, gezeichnet mit einem Calcomp 563 Plotter.

»Return to Square« gehört ebenfalls zu den oben erwähnten Metamorphose-Grafiken und ist damit ein weiteres frühes Beispiel von Morphing. Jasia Reichardts Cybernetic Serendipity Katalog beschreibt es wie folgt: »Ein Quadrat wird in das Profil einer Frau und dann wieder zurück in ein Quadrat verwandelt, programmiert nach einer arithmetischen Folge.« Das Motiv ist als »Return to Square (a)« aufgeführt, ein zweites Motiv, (b), wurde mit geometrischer Progression programmiert.


nach oben

 Asymmetry (Maughanogram)


Asymmetry 0
Maughan S. Mason:
Asymmetry (Maughanogram)
Lithografie nach Plotterzeichnung, 1968

Generiert 1966 mit einem Analogrechner, gezeichnet mit einem XY Plotter.

»Asymmetry« ist eines der so genannten Maughanogramme, die der amerikanische Computerkünstler Maughan Sterling Manson mit einem Analogrechner erschuf. Die Grafik ist zusammen mit zwei weiteren Arbeiten Masons im Ausstellungskatalog abgebildet. Vor der Ausstellung in London hatte Mason die Grafiken bereits im Salt Lake Art Center, Salt Lake City, Utah, ausgestellt.
Der Moiré-Effekt in der Grafik war vom Künstler beabsichtigt.

Maughan S. Manson (1931 - 2003) war Physiker, Präsident der Society for Computer Simulation und war 25 Jahre als Programmierer für IBM tätig.


nach oben

 Human Figure


Human Figure 0
William Fetter / Boeing Computer Graphics:
Human Figure
Lithografie nach Plotterzeichnung, 1968

Generiert 1968 (nach V&A).
Hardware: Keypunch, IBM/reader printer, IBM 7094, Gerber Plotter.

»Human Figure« zeigt einen Piloten, der eine Sequenz von Bewegungen ausführt. Die Figur wurde für den Flugzeughersteller Boeing entwickelt, um die Platzierung von Instrumenten im Cockpit zu optimieren. Die Resultate der Bewegungsstudien flossen in die Entwicklung des Boeing-747-Cockpits ein.

William Fetter (1928 - 2002) arbeitete in den 1960er Jahren als Art Director für Boeing. Er gilt als Schöpfer des ersten Computermodells eines menschlichen Körpers im Jahr 1964, des »Boeing Man«.


nach oben

 The Snail


The Snail 0
Kerry Strand / California Computer Products: The Snail
Lithografie nach Plotterzeichnung, 1968
(Der Moiré-Effekt ist Teil der Grafik.)

Generiert 1967 mit einem CalComp 770, gezeichnet mit CalComp 702 Flachbett-Plotter.

»The Snail« war eine von sieben, von verschiedenen Künstlern gestalteten Computergrafiken, die CalComp in der Cybernetic Serendipity Ausstellung präsentierte - auch um die Kapazität von CalComp Plottern zu demonstrieren. Die Ausgabe des Masterplots von »The Snail« dauerte seinerzeit 4,5 Stunden.

Kerry Strand (geb. 1940) ist Ingenieur und Physiker und arbeitete von 1966 bis 1972 für CalComp Technology, Anaheim, Kalifornien. CalComp oder auch California Computer Products produzierte Computer-Hardware wie den erwähnten CalComp Plotter.


nach oben

 Random War


Random War 0
Charles Csuri und James Shaffer / Ohio State University:
Random War
Lithografie nach Plotterzeichnung, 1968

Generiert 1967 an der Ohio State University.

»Random War« ist das Ergebnis eines frühen Computermodells, das den Ausgang von imaginären Kampfhandlungen prognostizieren sollte. Die Beilage zur Motif Edition von 1968 beschreibt die Grafik wie folgt: »Eine Zeichnung eines Spielzeugsoldaten wurde angefertigt, welche die Daten für das Basiselement der Komposition lieferte. Ein Zufallsgenerator im Programm ermittelte die Verteilung und Position der Soldaten auf dem Schlachtfeld. Die eine Seite ist rot, die andere schwarz und jeder Soldat erhielt den Namen von real existierenden Personen. Der militärische Rang wurde mittels des Zufallsgenerators zugewiesen. Das Programm hatte auch eine automatische Perspektiveneinstellung. Ein Bild ... der Kampfhandlung wurde erstellt und der Ausdruck enthielt die folgenden Informationen: die Gesamtzahl der Toten und Verletzten in alphabetischer Reihenfolge; die Überlebenden in alphabetischer Reihenfolge.«

Charles Csuri (geb. 1922) ist ausgebildeter Künstler und zählt zu den Pionieren der Computerkunst. Zusammen mit James Shaffer schuf er etliche bekannte Werke früher Computerkunst an der Ohio State University. Im Jahr 2012 entwickelte Csuri basierend auf Random War ein Online-Spiel für Facebook Mitglieder.


nach oben

 3D Checkerboard Pattern


3D Checkerboard Pattern 0
Donald K. Robbins / Sandia Corporation:
3D Checkerboard Pattern
Lithografie nach Plotterzeichnung, 1968

Generiert ca. 1968

»3D Checkerboard Pattern« ist heute eine der bekanntesten Computergrafiken der Cybernetic Serendipity Ausstellung, da sie im Cover des Ausstellungskatalogs verwendet wurde. Die Beilage zur Motif Edition von 1968 beschreibt die Grafik als Visualisierung des so genannten »bug problem« in Berechnungen: »Welchen Weg nehmen vier Käfer, die, abgesetzt an den Ecken eines Quadrats, aufeinander zukrabbeln?« Ein grundlegendes Muster wurde erzeugt. Die resultierende Grafik vervielfältigt dieses Muster zu einem Schachbrettmuster und »im weiteren Verlauf zeigt sich das Schachbrett als dreidimensionale Einheit, dessen Form von perspektivischen Transformationen verzerrt wird.«



nach oben
Copyright Heike Werner
Impressum / Kontakt